Mar 11, 2014; Los Angeles, CA, USA; General view of a Nike vapor elite football at Southern California Trojans spring practice at Howard Jones Field. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Davey O’Brien Award 2014 Watch List: 5 Big 12 quarterbacks on list

The College Football season is right around the corner and they’re releasing watch list for the season awards already. The most recent is the Davey O’Brien Award handed out to the best quarterback in college football.

The list doesn’t include any Texas Longhorns quarterbacks as they head into a new era under a new head coach in Charlie Strong. There are still some question makes around the quarterback position for the Longhorns, will they go with Junior David Ash or do they go with the young Tyrone Swoopes. Ash has the experience but is coming off an injury so a lot will depend on where his recovery is, and that injury and the resulting question marks could be what has kept him off the list.

While no Longhorns are on the roster, there are five Big 12 quarterbacks on the list.

Here is a look at the complete 2014 Davey O’Brien Award Preseason watch list (Big 12 quarterbacks in bold):

Anthony Boone (Duke, Senior)
Terrance Broadway (Louisiana-Lafayette, Senior)
Shane Carden (East Carolina, Senior)
Rakeem Cato (Marshall, Senior)
Connor Cook (Michigan State, Junior)
Jeff Driskel (Florida, Junior)
Cody Fajardo (Nevada, Senior)
Devin Gardner (Michigan, Senior)
Jared Goff (California, Sophomore)
Everett Golson (Notre Dame, Junior)
Garrett Grayson (Colorado State, Senior)
Christian Hackenberg (Penn State, Sophomore)
Connor Halliday (Washington State, Senior)
Grant Hedrick (Boise State, Senior)
Taylor Heinicke (Old Dominion, Senior)
Taysom Hill (BYU, Junior)
Kevin Hogan (Stanford, Junior)
Brett Hundley (UCLA, Junior)
Matt Johnson (Bowling Green, Junior)
Chuckie Keeton (Utah State, Senior)
Taylor Kelly (Arizona State, Senior)
Cody Kessler (USC, Junior)
Trevor Knight (Oklahoma, Sophomore)
Sean Mannion (Oregon State, Senior)
Marcus Mariota (Oregon, Junior)
Nick Marshall (Auburn, Senior)
Hutson Mason (Georgia, Senior)
Braxton Miller (Ohio State, Senior)
John O’Korn (Houston, Sophomore)
Bryce Petty (Baylor, Senior)
Dak Prescott (Mississippi State, Junior)
Keenan Reynolds (Navy, Junior)
Joel Stave (Wisconsin, Junior)
P.J. Walker (Temple, Sophomore)
Bo Wallace (Ole Miss, Senior)
J.W. Walsh (Oklahoma State, Junior)
Jake Waters (Kansas State, Senior)
Davis Webb (Texas Tech, Sophomore)
Jameis Winston (Florida State, Sophomore)

Who do you think will walk away with the award? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.


Next Longhorns Game Full schedule »

Tags: Davey O'Brien Award Texas Longhorns

comments powered by Disqus