Former Big 12 football HC Matt Rhule to ‘finalize’ deal with Nebraska

Matt Rhule, Big 12 football Mandatory Credit: Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports
Matt Rhule, Big 12 football Mandatory Credit: Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports /

One of the most notable head coaching gigs that are open around the college football landscape right now is likely going to be filled soon by a former Big 12 football head coach. It’s starting to look like the former Baylor Bears and Carolina Panthers head coach Matt Rhule will become the next head coach for the Nebraska Cornhuskers.

A report from ESPN’s Chris Low on Twitter on the afternoon of Nov. 25 said that “Nebraska has zeroed in” on Rhule as its next head coach. And the two parties are looking “to finalize a deal in the coming days”.

The same message was echoed in a written report from ESPN’s Low on Nov. 25.

If Rhule is hired to be the next Nebraska head coach, he would be replacing the former Huskers bench boss Scott Frost. Before being let go earlier this season, Frost spent a little more than four seasons in Lincoln.

Ex-Big 12 football head coach Matt Rhule likely to be the next Nebraska head coach

During his time in Lincoln as the Nebraska head coach, Frost posted a record of just 16-31 (.340 winning percentage). Nebraska didn’t get bowl-eligible in any season under Frost as the head coach.

Moreover, Rhule will be looking to bring Nebraska back to a competitive level in the Big Ten. Rhule helped to build up the Temple Owls football program during his tenure as their head coach from 2013-2016.

And then, Rhule revitalized the Baylor football program during his three seasons as their head coach in Waco from 2017-2019. During his three seasons in Waco, Rhule posted a record of 19-20. But he led Baylor to a big 11-win season during his final year in Waco, where they finished up at No. 13 in the AP Poll.

Next. 3 reasons why Texas can cook Baylor on Black Friday. dark

Rhule is likely going to be the fourth head coach in the last decade for the struggling Nebraska program. The other three are Bo Pelini, Mike Riley, and the aforementioned Frost.