Texas Football: 5 key seniors who could return to UT in 2024

Jake Majors, Texas football
Jake Majors, Texas football /
1 of 6

On Black Friday against the Texas Tech Red Raiders, No. 7 Texas football will recognize over two dozen players on Senior Night. This special group of seniors has helped the ascent of the Texas program in the last few years under head coach Steve Sarkisian.

Texas has gone from missing out on bowl eligibility in Sarkisian’s first season in 2021 to having a clear path for a spot in the Big 12 Championship Game and in the conversation for the College Football Playoff in 2023.

Many of these Longhorns players who are walking on Senior Night have been in this program since well before Sarkisian replaced Tom Herman as Texas’ head coach.

Key seniors Texas football could get back in the fold in 2024

Some of the players honored on Senior Night were incredibly instrumental to Texas’ success this fall, including redshirt senior defensive lineman T’Vondre Sweat, senior linebacker Jaylan Ford, redshirt senior wide receiver Jordan Whittington, and senior nickelback Jahdae Barron, among many others.

They deserve to be celebrated for what they’ve accomplished in their time on the Forty Acres. And what better way to do that than the Longhorns clinching a spot in the Big 12 Championship Game and moving one step closer to getting into the Playoff?

Here are the Longhorns that are walking on Senior Night.

  • Paxton Anderson
  • Gus Asel
  • Jahdae Barron
  • Patrick Bayouth
  • Jett Bush
  • Trill Carter
  • Jalen Catalon
  • Alfred Collins
  • Kitan Crawford
  • Jaylan Ford
  • David Gbenda
  • Sawyer Goram-Welch
  • Christian Jones
  • Tannahill Love
  • Gabriel Lozano
  • Jake Majors
  • Peter Mpagi
  • Byron Murphy II
  • Isaiah Neyor
  • Keilan Robinson
  • Ryan Sanborn
  • T’Vondre Sweat
  • Jerrin Thompson
  • Ryan Watts
  • Jordan Whittington

But not all of the Longhorns players walking on Senior Night will wind up departing next offseason. Some players will decide to return if they have eligibility remaining, whether it’s via a medical redshirt, the COVID year, and/or the four-game redshirt rule.

On the other hand, some players (like Whittington) have already said they’re not planning to return to Texas in 2024.

Here are five key Longhorns players walking on Senior Night that could return to Texas for the 2024 season.

Which players still have the eligibility to return in 2024?

  • Jahdae Barron: 1 year
  • Trill Carter: 1 year
  • Jalen Catalon: 1 year
  • Alfred Collins: 1 year
  • Kitan Crawford: 1 year
  • Jaylan Ford: 1 year
  • Jake Majors: 1 year
  • Byron Murphy: 2 years
  • Isaiah Neyor: 2 years
  • Keilan Robinson: 1 year
  • Jerrin Thompson: 1 year
  • Ryan Watts: 1 year
  • Jordan Whittington: 1 year